HTML Encoding Description Field

Have a question about Bullhorn's HTTP based APIs? You've found the right place.

API Update [posted on December 13, 2012]:

This version of the Bullhorn APIs should no longer be used.

All new work should be done using Bullhorn's REST or Web Services APIs. For more information please visit: http://developer.bullhorn.com/documentation

Bullhorn REST API provides a simpler and faster way for developers to build applications that interact with the Bullhorn platform and is used by Bullhorn Inc. to develop features of the Bullhorn ATS/CRM application.

Of the BullhornSTAFFING HTTP API interfaces listed below, our analysis shows that the following are most commonly used by developers:

Resume Parsing API
Published Job Data (XML)
The interface to these will continue to work as is because Bullhorn will replace the back end to use REST API. The URLs for these 2 specific APIs may change in the 2nd half of 2013; developers may require to update their applications to use the new URLs.

Moderators: StaffingSupport, s.emmons

Locked
steve.major
User
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm

HTML Encoding Description Field

Post by steve.major » Thu Aug 21, 2008 4:17 pm

We use the Candidate Description field to hold text representations of resumes. We recently started saving them in HTML format from our website (www.sapphire.com). This is causing some issues when communicating through web services using XML when we come across HTML that is malformed in an XML document.
Can BullHorn HTMLDecode this info on the way into the BH database and the HTMLEncode it on the way out?
Anyone else run into issues with this??

jamithireddy
User
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 11:22 pm

Re: HTML Encoding Description Field

Post by jamithireddy » Thu May 17, 2012 5:39 pm

Hi Steve,

I ran into similar issue.

Did you figure out, how to resolve the HTML decode issue ?

Thanks in Advance.

Regards,
Venkat.

nsolanki
User
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm

Re: HTML Encoding Description Field

Post by nsolanki » Mon May 21, 2012 10:23 am

Hi Venkat,

Bullhorn does not encode or decode the information where there is bad XML. You will need to ensure the correct html is added into the description field via your scripts.

Please see http://developer.bullhorn.com/doc/version_2-0/ for further information.

I hope this helps.

Thank you.

Nimisha

Locked